Mahurangi College Awards 2016

The head prefects for 2017, from left, deputy head girl Carrie Wooller, head boy Zane Illingworth, head girl Hannah Powell and deputy head boy Jacob Bindon.

The Mahurangi College senior prizegiving was held on Wednesday November 2.

Chantelle Maher receives the DUX award.

Head Girl Sarah Wilson took out the top scholarship this year.

Major award winners were head girl Sarah Wilson, who received the University of Waikato Scholarship for Outstanding Academic Achievement ($25,000), and Dux Chantelle Maher, who received the University of Auckland Top Achievers Award ($20,000) and the Fuji Xerox Prize ($3000).

Proxime Accessit Brooke Nicholls received the Victoria University Academic Excellence Scholarship ($5000).

Next year’s head boy and head girl will be Zane Illingworth and Hannah Powell. Deputy head boy and deputy head girl will be Jacob Bindon and Carrie Wooller.

Other academic awards and scholarship winners were:

The Auckland University of Technology Vice-Chancellor’s Scholarship ($20,000), Lucy Twhigg; Victoria University Academic Excellence Scholarship ($5000), Ashley Maher, Brooke Nicholls and Sarah Wilson; University of Canterbury ‘Go Canterbury’ Scholarship ($5000), Jack Harrison, Caleb O’Reilly and Calum Rice; The University of Auckland Faculty of Arts Undergraduate Scholarship ($3000) Krysana Hanley; The Mike Pero Real Estate Young Person of the Year Scholarship ($2000), Carrie Jones; The Gladys Partridge Scholarship ($1500), Paul Hardy; Massey University Vice-Chancellor’s High Achievers’ Scholarship ($3000), Gabby Bissett, Liam Caldwell, Imogen Dumville and Lucy Twhigg; Massey University Business Scholarship ($1000), Terese Thompson and Robert Vivian; Dolly Wynyard Trust Scholarships ($3000), Gabby Bissett ($2000), Georgia Hibbert-Foy; David Sheat Memorial Scholarship (Rotary) ($1000), Brooke Nicholls; Dan Smith Chartered Accountants’ Scholarship ($1000), Patrick Bates; Warkworth Community Scholarship ($500), Emily Campbell and Rosalee Green; McDonald Adams Optometrists’ Scholarship ($500), Siobhan Weaver; Argyle Manufacturing Scholarship ($300), Gabby Bissett and Emily Campbell.